QPR Knowledge Base 2019.1

Adding and Modifying User Groups

Adding and Modifying User Groups

Previous topic Next topic  

Adding and Modifying User Groups

Previous topic Next topic  

Adding Groups

To add a group, switch the window to the Groups mode and click the btn_add_group Add Group... button in the left frame, which will create a new group and open the Group Properties dialog. Alternatively, select Groups arrow_right Add Group from the main menu when the window is in the Groups mode.

 

Group Properties dialog

A group's properties can be modified in the Group Properties dialog. In this dialog the following information can be defined for each group: Group Name, Group Description, Members, Licenses, and Enabled Products.

 

 

Licenses

Here you need to allocate licenses for the user:

 

QPR Metrics User: The users are licensed to use the QPR Metrics client and to view, update, or administrate QPR Metrics measures in QPR Portal depending on the product permissions.

QPR Metrics Viewer: The users are licensed to view QPR Metrics measures in QPR Portal depending on the product permissions.

QPR EnterpriseArchitect User: The users are licensed to use the QPR EnterpriseArchitect client and QPR ProcessDesigner client.

QPR ProcessDesigner User: The users are licensed to use the QPR ProcessDesigner client.

QPR Modeling Viewer: The users are licensed to view, update, or administrate QPR Modeling content (QPR ProcessDesigner/QPR EnterpriseArchitect) in QPR Portal depending on the product permissions.

 

 

Product Permissions Method

Here you need to define how the group's rights are assigned:

 

The following authorization levels can be selected:

System Administrator: The members of the group have an administrator access to all QPR products.

 

QPR Modeling and QPR Metrics have both the client and the web client, which have separate rights settings. If you have allocated a QPR EnterpriseArchitect/ProcessDesigner User license and QPR Modeling Viewer license for a user, or you have allocated a QPR Metrics User license to a user, you can additionally define that the user has rights to QPR Portal too. With QPR Portal and QPR User Management these settings refer to QPR Portal being accessed through a web browser and QPR User Management being run as an ordinary local computer application. You can select the following rights for the user:

Basic: Select "Basic" to give the group authorization to the QPR product.

Administrate: Select "Administrate" to appoint the group members as Administrators of the QPR product.

View: The group members can view the information on the product but cannot update any information. Note: In the case View rights are used for QPR Portal, they override  QPR Modeling and QPR Metrics Web Client rights, i.e. even though a group has administrative rights to QPR Modeling and/or QPR Metrics Web Client, the users in the group cannot make any changes to Portal (including the Processes and Scorecards views) unless at least Update rights are granted for QPR Portal.

Update: The group members can view and update information on the product. In the case of the QPR User Management System the user can only change the descriptions of groups.

 

 

note

Note

To ensure the proper use of authorization levels, the rights of a group member override the group level settings. For example, if the group "QPR Metrics Users" has QPR Metrics enabled, but this group has the member "Smith" who is NOT enabled to use QPR Metrics  (rights defined in the User Properties dialog), then "Smith" cannot login to QPR Metrics.

 

 

Group Members Dialog

Selecting group members can be done in the Group Members dialog. Click the Members... button at the bottom of the dialog to open the Group Members dialog.

The available users are listed on the left and the users which are already members of the group are listed on the right. Users can easily be added to or removed from the Group Members list by selecting the user and clicking the Add or Remove button. The Add All and Remove All buttons are useful if you want to add all users to the group members list or remove all users from the group members list. Click "OK" to submit the group member changes.

 

Checking the "Force all members to use group permissions" checkbox makes every user in the group to use the group's product permissions. This setting overrides the user-specific settings.