QPR Knowledge Base

Upgrading or Migrating to a New Version

Hide Navigation Pane

Upgrading or Migrating to a New Version

Previous topic Next topic No expanding text in this topic  

Upgrading or Migrating to a New Version

Previous topic Next topic JavaScript is required for expanding text Mail us feedback on this topic!  

Comments (...)

There are two different ways of moving into a new QPR ProcessGuide Xpress version, upgrade and migration. Upgrades occur when you install a newer service pack for a version you already use. Migrations, on the other hand, take place when you install a new product version, for example jump from 8.0 to 8.1.

 

In an upgrade installation, the old version is detected and the new version is installed on top of that using the same folders. After the upgrade is completed, you can continue using the software.

 

In a migration, the new version is installed side-by-side with the existing version and you can proceed with the new version's installation similarly as if it were a first-time installation of QPR ProcessGuide Xpress. The default installation folders are designed not to overlap, but if you have used a custom installation folder, make sure you're not installing the new version into the same folder with the old one. Note that once you save your models with the new version, you cannot open them in the old version anymore. When you have taken the new version into use and are satisfied with it, you can remove the old version using the Windows Control Panel.

 

Note: In both upgrade and migration scenarios, make sure you have full backups of your models before proceeding!

Comments (...)